Spring, 1980

A group of Lutherans who had been meeting in Washington, Missouri, contacted the American Lutheran Church about creating a mission church.

June, 1980

Pastor Paul Baehmann came to Washington to canvass the area.

Fall, 1980

The American Lutheran Church purchased 5 acres of ground at 5 Scenic Dr. to become the future site of The American Lutheran Church (original name).

November of 1980

Became an official mission church of the ALC.


The name Peace Lutheran Church was adopted to reflect the desire to have a church that acted and reacted in love for one another.


The cornerstone of the building was laid.

January 1, 1988

Three major synods/denominations (The American Lutheran Church, the Lutheran Church in America, and the American Evangelical Lutheran Church) of the Lutheran church merged to become the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA).
Peace Lutheran Church became self-supporting.


Peace participated in a program called the Partnership for Missional Church that helped change the church focus from inward to outward.

Peace Lutheran has been served by three full-time called pastors and one interim during its existence:

  • The Rev. Paul Baehmann, 1980-2005
  • The Rev. Kenneth Knutson 2005-2008 
  • The Rev. Robin Morgan (interim), 2008-2010
  • The Rev. Aimee Appell, 2010-present


5 Scenic Drive, Washington, Missouri 63090.

Sundays at 10AM (Adult Education and Sunday School start at 9AM)

Contact Form